Dan Brown’s Inferno

Dan Brown’s latest book, Inferno, was a mix of lows and highs. I was never a fan of Dan Brown but I would be lying if I said his works do not intrigue me. In fact, I have read all of his published books. Although this may be due to do the fact that I am a bit fan of conspiracy theories myself. So when I started reading Inferno, I was curious with what puzzle Dan Brown may have concocted to lurk behind Dante’s Divine Comedy. It seemed that the limits were unplumbed, seeing that the poem itself, as the character Robert Langdon mentioned, inspired various acts and works not only in the Catholic world. However, after reading Inferno I was left with numbness. The idea behind the book was solid; the problem posed is a pressing issue faced by humanity today, and the concept of population control a current and existing advocacy.  Yet, despite the supposed prevalence of the issues raised in the fictional book, I did not feel compelled to rethink of the world and sustainability (although this may not really be Dan Brown’s goal). Instead, after reading, I closed the book and slept like a baby, which I think spell badly for a book posed to inspire thought and questions (or again, this may not be the purpose of the book).  To top it off, I felt that the characters were thinly developed.

Nevertheless, if you just want the labyrinth of codes which Dan Brown’s works usually offer then you can never go wrong with this book which will bring you from the splendor of Florence to the deepest of hell.

2 thoughts on “Dan Brown’s Inferno

  1. Pingback: Inferno, Dan Brown | lasesana

Leave a comment